Tuesday, 21 April 2009

NHS leadership awards 2009

When I visit kidney units and meet people from both the kidney community and others who care for people with kidney disease I am struck by the quality, talent and values of our people – not just NHS staff, social care staff, volunteers and others from the third sector. “High Quality Care for All” set out to foster and recognise leadership for quality and a new NHS leadership award scheme has been set up with 7 categories:

  1. The NHS Leader of the Year
  2. The NHS Mentor of the Year
  3. The NHS Partner of the Year
  4. The NHS Quality Champion of the Year
  5. The NHS Change Leader of the Year
  6. The NHS Innovator of the Year
  7. The NHS Award for Inspiration

I particularly liked the quote from Mark Ogden (Finance Director for NHS North West), who I had the pleasure of working with when he was Finance Director of Salford Royal, “to deliver our ambitions for the NHS, it needs more than just leadership from the top. It’s the leadership that takes place in the informal settings, like wards, theatres, community teams, small offices and conversations with colleagues which we have each day that will make the real difference”.

Making a nomination is not a complicated process. All you need to do is write a 250 word citation and I would strongly urge you to nominate colleagues who you feel have made a special contribution to safety, patient experience and outcomes.